National Park System

Mendenhall Glacier and Nugget Falls close to Juneau Alaska.

Yellowstone National Park was the first created and was established by an act signed by President Ulysses S. Grant on March 1, 1872. The National Park Service was not created until August 25, 1916, by an act signed by President Woodrow Wilson. Yellowstone was created as a National Park in the Territories of Montana and Wyoming and it was said to be “a public park or pleasuring-ground for the benefit and enjoyment of the people.” The founding of Yellowstone began a worldwide national park movement. Today more than 100 nations contain some 1,200 national parks or equivalent preserves. Today more than 20,000 National Park Service employees care for America’s 400+ national parks and work with communities across the nation to help preserve local history and create close-to-home recreational opportunities. Most of our favorite vacations have included a national park visit which we find as or more inspiring than the cities we have visited.


You May Also Like

Comments Disabled